This series is a reprint of the original books written by W.H. McGuffey and published in 1836. This is important since any series published after that date has been changed and “watered down” in terms of educational content and Christian values. McGuffey chose simple, yet instructive stories to teach children how to read, appreciate the beauty of the language, and develop godly character.

The four readers do NOT correspond to the first four grades, but rather are based on reading skill levels. For example, the first three books are to be used in early elementary grades. The Second Reader is generally used for upper elementary grades, the Third Reader for intermediate grades 7-9, and the Fourth Reader is an aggressive high school and college reader.

Beginning with the alphabet, this reader moves to simple one-syllable words such as cat and fox, then on to more difficult one-syllable words such as horse and spring. The Primer is illustrated with the charming original engravings.

The Original McGuffey's Readers - Eclectic Primer

SKU: 040001-3505CA
$9.99 Regular Price
$7.99Sale Price
  • ISBN-10: 0880620188
    ISBN-13: 9780880620185
    Publisher: Mott Media
    Format: Hardcover Book
    Author: William H McGuffey
    Grade: 1, 2
    Topic: Reading - Reading Skills and Comprehension

Copyright (C) 2018

Fenton, Michigan, USA


Like us on Facebook