This series is a reprint of the original books written by W.H. McGuffey and published in 1836. This is important since any series published after that date has been changed and “watered down” in terms of educational content and Christian values. McGuffey chose simple, yet instructive stories to teach children how to read, appreciate the beauty of the language, and develop godly character.

The four readers do NOT correspond to the first four grades, but rather are based on reading skill levels. For example, the first three books are to be used in early elementary grades. The Second Reader is generally used for upper elementary grades, the Third Reader for intermediate grades 7-9, and the Fourth Reader is an aggressive high school and college reader.

This reader develops thinking skills and the richer vocabulary of grades six through eight. Famous authors such as Addison, Irving, and Byron are represented. Reading selections include such topics as:  how we know the Bible is from God; character building (such as work versus idleness); and topics of science and nature. This book is an education and not merely a reader.  After mastering this, the student is reading better than many high school students.

The Original McGuffey's Readers - Eclectic Third Reader

SKU: 040005-3502EA
$18.99 Regular Price
$15.19Sale Price
  • ISBN-10: 0880620048
    ISBN-13: 9780880620048
    Publisher: Mott Media
    Format: Hardcover Book
    Author: William H McGuffey
    Grade:b6, 7, 8
    Topic:bReading - Reading Skills and Comprehension